From eating to nurturing through ingestion pt. 2   2 comments

So what prompts a person to really start making changes in their life instead of just talking about it?  For me it’s middle age…..Like most people, I heard the warnings of older folks ” Enjoy it now because once you hit your forties, it’ll all change. ”  Also like most people, I didn’t really think it would happen to me… Until it did.

Shortly after I turned forty-two, I started noticing that my “love handles” we’re beginning to look more like love handfuls. My mother laughed at me one day when I complained about my increasing weight gain. ” That’s your spare tire dear.” And she gave me one of those knowing looks the older generation gives to those foolish younger ones. The look that says ” I told you so…” Without actually saying so.

Another factor that has snuck up on me ( ok came at me while I held my hands in front of my eyes in denial), was menopause. While I still only have my foot in the door of this blessed change, I am getting to know it and the ways in which it is affecting me.

So now I am 45, 40 pounds heavier than I should be, often tired, achy, lack energy and stamina, irritable…well, you get the picture. Most people would sum it up with ” typical middle age issues.”  Let’s think about that for a minute… Why are those symptoms synonymous with middle age? Why is it considered normal to feel run down and out of shape when we are supposedly ” in our prime” ?

The obvious answers would be that most people suffer from lack of good nutrition, excercise, and mental attitude, right?

stay tuned for what I’ve learned…

 

Posted February 6, 2015 by oldwaywmn in Uncategorized

2 responses to “From eating to nurturing through ingestion pt. 2

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This may seem weird but my mom is a birth doula and I am studying food systems, anthropology, native studies in college which is why I stumbled upon this blog. Anyways I was just wondering if you’ve posted the part three of this post somewhere becaue I would love to read it

  2. It isn’t weird at all. As of yet, I have not posted part three. When I do, it will appear here.
    Thanks for your interest and feel free to keep in touch and ask away.

Leave a Reply

